Saturday, 23 February 2013

Lewin's Leadership Style

Lewin (1939) identified three different styles of leadership, which were Authoritarian (Autocratic), Participative (Democratic) and Delegative (Laissez-Faire).  Lewin concluded that the Democratic style was the most affective.

Autocratic:- This style shows the leader making all the decisions without any consultation with the team.  Lewin found that this style caused the most level of discontent and is only  successful where the motivation of the team is not affected.

Democratic:- All team members are involved in the decision making process with the final decision being the leader's or the members in the group.  It is found that this style supports the team building and working to a common goal.

Laissez-Faire:- The Leader's impact on the team is minimal and decision making is made by the team members only.  This style works when the team is self movitated and responsible for the outcome.  

This Leadership Theory has been compared to Lotso and Jessie  leadership styles. 

1 comment:

  1. Very informative post. Keep up the good work. I would really look forward to your other posts. See more at:- at:-